Ministère de l'Environnement
et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Search Quebec.ca
Navigation par thématique
Menu de la section changements climatiques

The Carbon Market

Sales by Mutual Agreement by the Minister

The Sale by Mutual Agreement of Emissions Units by the Minister Set for September 21, 2021, is cancelled - Notice of Cancellation

Carbon Market: Quebec will Hold Its First Sale by Mutual Agreement of Greenhouse Gas Emissions Units on September 21, 2021 – Press Release (July 23, 2021)

Sale by Mutual Agreement by the Minister Notices and Results

Guides

Documentation

Frequently Asked Questions (PDF, 1,3 Mb)

User Support


Under the cap-and-trade system for greenhouse gas emission allowances (C&T System), the Minister of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change may hold an emission units sale by mutual agreement by the Minister up to four times per year. There is no pre-set date for these sales and it is at the Minister’s discretion as to whether to hold them. If applicable, a notice is published at least 60 days before the scheduled date of a sale by mutual agreement by the Minister. The notice outlines the rules and conditions pertaining to the sale. Unlike an auction, GHG emission units are offered at a set price.

The Minister’s reserve account

GHG emission units made available to emitters during a sale by mutual agreement by the Minister come from the Minister’s reserve, which was created when the cap-and-trade system was implemented. To accomplish this, 1% was removed from the 2013 and 2014 emission unit budgets, 4% from the 2015, 2016 and 2017 emission unit budgets and 7% from the 2018, 2019 and 2020 emission unit budgets. When the reserve was created, the GHG emission units made available to emitters were also equally divided into three categories (A, B and C).

Settlement price of GHG emission units sold during a sale by mutual agreement by the Minister

The price of emission units sold during a sale by mutual agreement by the Minister in 2013 was pre-set: $40 for category A units, $45 for category B units and $50 for category C units. These prices were increased by 5% plus inflation annually from 2014 to 2020. Following the adoption of the Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting a cap-and-trade system for greenhouse gas emission allowances, these prices were set at $41.40 for category A units, $53.20 for category B units and $65 for category C units. The prices are increased annually by 5% plus inflation as of 2021. However, if California, as a partner entity, has set higher prices per emission unit for corresponding categories, the emission units are sold at the highest of the prices set by those entities, based on the daily average exchange rate of the Bank of Canada published on its website, in force on the day preceding the sale by mutual agreement.

Procedure of sales by mutual agreement by the Minister

During a sale by mutual agreement by the Minister, an emitter cannot submit more than one bid indicating the number of units requested and the category corresponding to the maximum price per unit it is willing to pay for the units. This bid must be consistent with the amount covered by the bidder’s financial guarantee, and the bidder’s quantity of emission units required to meet the purchaser’s coverage obligation. All bids remain confidential. At the close of the sale by mutual agreement, the emission units from categories A, B and C are allocated in that order. Thus, if for example there are enough category A units to satisfy all bids received, all bidders whose bids meet their financial guarantee and emission unit requirements will receive units from category A, even if their bid was for category B or C units.

Winners are notified of the number of emission units they have been awarded and of the amount they owe. Winners must complete financial settlement within the prescribed time period, failing which their financial guarantee will be used.

Note that sales by mutual agreement by the Minister are not joint sales and that the units put up for sale come from Québec’s reserve account.

Registering for sales by mutual agreement by the Minister

Participation in sales by mutual agreement by the Minister is reserved for emitters whose general accounts do not have enough GHG emission units that can be used to cover emissions for the current compliance period.

To participate in a sale by mutual agreement by the Minister, emitters must first open an account in the GHG emissions allowance Compliance Instrument Tracking System Service (CITSS). However, participation in sales by mutual agreement by the Minister is not automatic. Once the account has been opened, one of the emitter’s account representatives must indicate the emitter’s intention to participate in a government sale (auction or sale by mutual agreement by the Minister) at least 31 days before the event. To do so, the representative must click on the “Initiate Event Participation” button under the “Auction” tab in the CITSS system. This button only appears if registration is open for an upcoming event and enables the emitter’s representative to submit a new registration application for an event or submit the registration information once again as confirmation of the emitter’s intention to participate in the event.

For additional information about registering for sales by mutual agreement by the Minister, see the CITSS User Manual – Volume 7: Registration for Governmental Sales (PDF, 1.2 MB).

The sale by mutual agreement administrator

Under the Regulation respecting the delegation of management of certain parts of a cap-and-trade system for greenhouse gas emission allowances, some support services for the system’s implementation, including the administration of auctions and sales by mutual agreement by the Minister, have been delegated to the non-profit organization Western Climate Initiative, Inc.

The financial services administrator

Western Climate Initiative, Inc. signed a contract with Deutsche Bank, which provides financial and transactional services for auctions and sales by mutual agreement by the Minister carried out by the participating governments.

The financial services administrator provides the following services:

  • Before the sale by mutual agreement by the Minister:
    • Process financial eligibility applications;
    • Opening and maintaining bank accounts for the deposit of financial guarantees;
    • Administering financial guarantees;
  • After the sale by mutual agreement by the Minister:
    • Payments;
    • Returning unused financial guarantees.

Retour à la page Marché du carbone

Evaluation of the page Learn more

As part of its 2019—2023 Strategic Plan, the Ministère wishes to improve access to information that is available on its website. Can we count on your co-operation by responding to a survey at the bottom of each page? This will enable us to evaluate how easy it was to find the information you were looking for.

How easy was it to find the information you were looking for today?
Easy Difficult

Ministère de l'Environnement
et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Recherche Quebec.ca
Navigation par thématique
Menu de la section air

Marché du carbone

Ventes de gré à gré du ministre

La vente de gré à gré d’unité d’émissions de GES de la ministre, qui était prévue le 21 septembre 2021, est annulée - Avis d’annulation

Dans le cadre du système de plafonnement et d’échange de droits d’émission (SPEDE), le ministre de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques peut procéder à une vente de gré à gré d'unités d'émission un maximum de quatre fois par année. Aucune date n’est prédéterminée pour ces ventes, et la décision de les tenir ou pas appartient au ministre. Le cas échéant, un avis est publié au moins 60 jours avant la date prévue d’une vente de gré à gré et présente les règles et conditions qui l’entourent. Contrairement aux ventes aux enchères, il s’agit de ventes où les unités d’émission de GES sont offertes à prix fixe.

Le compte de réserve du ministre

Les unités d’émission de GES mises à la disposition des émetteurs au moment d’une vente de gré à gré du ministre proviennent de la réserve de ce dernier. Celle-ci a été créée dès la mise en œuvre du SPEDE par le retrait de 1 % des budgets d’unités d’émission des années 2013 et 2014, de 4 % des budgets d’unités d’émission des années 2015, 2016 et 2017 et de 7 % des budgets d’unités d’émission des années 2018, 2019 et 2020. À l’occasion de la création de la réserve, les unités d’émission de GES mises à la disposition des émetteurs ont été divisées également en trois catégories (A, B et C).

Prix de vente des unités d’émission de GES vendues lors d’une vente de gré à gré du ministre

Le prix de vente des unités d’émission vendues à l’occasion d’une vente de gré à gré du ministre en 2013 a été préétabli : il était de 40 $ pour les unités de la catégorie A, de 45 $ pour celles de la catégorie B et de 50 $ pour celles de la catégorie C. Ces prix ont été majorés annuellement de 5 % plus l’inflation de 2014 à 2020. À la suite de l’adoption, en décembre 2020, du Règlement modifiant le Règlement concernant le système de plafonnement et d’échange de droits d’émission de gaz à effet de serre, ces prix de vente ont été établis pour l’année 2021 à 41,40 $ pour les unités de la catégorie A, à 53,20 $ pour celles de la catégorie B et à 65 $ pour celles de la catégorie C. Ces prix sont majorés annuellement de 5 % plus l’inflation depuis 2021. Toutefois, si la Californie, à titre d’entité partenaire, a fixé des prix plus élevés par unité d’émission pour les catégories correspondantes, les unités d’émission sont vendues au plus élevé des prix parmi ceux fixés par ces entités, selon le taux de change moyen quotidien de la Banque du Canada publié sur le site Web de cette dernière, en vigueur la veille de la vente de gré à gré.

Fonctionnement d’une vente de gré à gré du ministre

Lors d’une vente de gré à gré du ministre, un émetteur ne peut soumettre qu’une seule offre d’achat en indiquant le nombre d’unités désirées et la catégorie correspondant au prix unitaire maximal auquel il est prêt à acheter ces unités. Cette offre doit respecter le montant couvert par sa garantie financière et la quantité d’unités d’émission requises pour satisfaire à son obligation de couverture. Toutes les offres demeurent secrètes. À la fermeture de la vente de gré à gré, les unités d’émission de catégories A, B et C sont attribuées dans l’ordre. Si, par exemple, il y a suffisamment d’unités de la catégorie A pour répondre à l’ensemble des offres reçues, tous les enchérisseurs dont les offres respectent leur garantie financière et leurs besoins d’unités d’émission recevront des unités de la catégorie A, et ce, même si leur offre visait des unités de catégorie B ou C.

Les gagnants sont avisés du nombre d’unités d’émission qui leur sera adjugé et du montant qu’ils doivent. Les enchérisseurs gagnants doivent, dans le délai prescrit, soumettre leur paiement à l’administrateur des services financiers, à défaut de quoi, leur garantie financière sera utilisée.

Il est à noter que les ventes de gré à gré du ministre ne sont pas conjointes et que les unités mises en vente proviennent du compte de la réserve du Québec.

Inscription aux ventes de gré à gré du ministre

La participation à une vente de gré à gré du ministre est réservée aux émetteurs dont le compte général ne comprend pas suffisamment d'unités d'émission de GES qui peuvent être utilisées pour couvrir des émissions pour la période de conformité en cours.

Pour prendre part à une vente de gré à gré du ministre, un émetteur doit d’abord ouvrir un compte dans le système de suivi des droits d'émission de GES (CITSS). Toutefois, la participation aux ventes de gré à gré du ministre n’est pas automatique. Une fois le compte ouvert, un des représentants de comptes de l’émetteur doit, par l’entremise de son compte général dans le système CITSS, indiquer son intention de participer à une vente du gouvernement (vente aux enchères ou vente de gré à gré du ministre) au moins 31 jours avant la tenue de l’événement. Pour ce faire, il doit cliquer sur le bouton « Inscription à un événement » dans l’onglet « Ventes du gouvernement » du système CITSS. Ce bouton s’affiche uniquement si les inscriptions sont ouvertes pour un événement à venir et il permet au représentant d’un émetteur de soumettre une nouvelle demande d’inscription à un événement ou de soumettre de nouveau l’information d’inscription en guise de confirmation de son intention d’y participer.

Pour des renseignements additionnels concernant l’inscription aux ventes de gré à gré du ministre, consultez le Guide CITSS – Volume 7 : Inscription aux ventes du gouvernement (PDF, 1,2 Mo).

L’administrateur de la vente de gré à gré

En vertu du Règlement concernant la délégation de la gestion de certaines parties du système de plafonnement et d’échange de droits d’émission de gaz à effet de serre, certains services de mise en œuvre du SPEDE, dont l’administration des ventes aux enchères, ont été délégués à l’organisme à but non lucratif Western Climate Initiative, inc.

L’administrateur des services financiers

Western Climate Initiative, inc. a conclu un contrat avec la firme Deutsche Bank, qui fournit les services financiers et transactionnels offerts dans le cadre des ventes aux enchères et des ventes de gré à gré du ministre aux gouvernements participants.

L’administrateur des services financiers offre les services suivants :

  • Avant la vente de gré à gré du ministre :
    • Traitement de la demande d’admissibilité financière;
    • Ouverture et tenue des comptes bancaires pour le dépôt des garanties financières;
    • Administration des garanties financières;
  • Après la vente de gré à gré du ministre :
    • Paiement;
    • Retour des garanties financières non utilisées.

Retour à la page Marché du carbone

Évaluation de la page En savoir plus

Dans le cadre de son Plan stratégique 2019-2023, le Ministère souhaite améliorer l'accessibilité de l'information disponible sur son site Web. Nous sollicitons donc votre collaboration, par l'entremise d'un sondage en bas de chacune des pages, qui nous permettra d'évaluer la facilité avec laquelle vous y trouvez l'information que vous recherchez.

À quel point était-il facile d'obtenir l'information que vous recherchiez aujourd'hui ?
Facile Difficile