Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs
Home Site Map Québec Portal E-Mail Search About the site Français

Report on Sales of Pesticides in Québec 2016

Summary

The Report on sales of pesticides in Québec is compiled annually by the Ministère to inform the population and stakeholders involved in the sale and use of pesticides. The Ministère is responsible for enforcing the Pesticides Act (chapter P-9.3) which, in accordance with the Regulation respecting permits and certificates for the sale and use of pesticides (chapter P-9.3, r.2), provides for collecting data, including data on pesticide sales. However, this report does not include the sale of pesticides in the form of seeds coated with pesticides. That information will be added later when a new regulation will provide for collecting this specific data.

The Report on sales of pesticides is also used to calculate the indicator in the Stratégie phytosanitaire québécoise en agriculture 2011-2021 (SPQA: Québec agricultural phytosanitary strategy 2011-2021), whose broad objective is to reduce the risks for the environment and health associated with the use of pesticides by 25% by 2021 compared to the 2006-2008 reference period. Monitoring these risks is conducted primarily via the study of pesticide sales for agricultural purposes that are integrated into the Québec Pesticide Risk Indicator (IRPeQ).

Since 1992, the report has been indicating changes in pesticide sales based on various categories, particularly sales in agricultural and urban environments.

In 2016, the total amount of pesticide sales in Québec was 4,170,291 kilograms of active ingredients (kg a.i.). This represents a 2.5% drop compared to sales in 2015 and an increase of 3.4% compared to sales in 1992, which was the first year that this data was compiled.

The Agricultural environment (French, PDF, 394 KB) section compiles sales of pesticides for crop production (field, sheltered and container crops) and sales for use on livestock and in agricultural buildings. In 2016, pesticide sales for farming amount to 3,415,290 kg a.i., or 81.9% of total sales. Herbicide sales represent 68.1% of pesticide sales used for the phytoprotection of crop production.

The per-hectare pressure index dropped from 2.02 to 1.86 kg a.i. between 2015 and 2016. During that same period, the total area under cultivation dropped by 0.5%, while agricultural pesticide sales dropped by 8.0%, which explains the decrease in the per-hectare pressure index. Agricultural pesticide risk indicators are expressed in comparison to the average for the 2006–2008 reference period. In 2016, the environmental and health risk indicators dropped respectively by 2% and 8% compared to that reference period, but are lower than in 2014.

The Urban environment (French, PDF, 437 KB) section compiles sales of pesticides for domestic use (products for individuals) as well as sales for the maintenance of landscaped areas (residential, commercial and golf courses) and pest control (extermination). Sales of pesticides for the urban environment represent 12.2% of total sales, or 507,856 kg a.i., which represents a 51% increase in sales over 2015. This change is attributable to increased pesticide sales for household use (76.1%), in particular the sale of a bioherbicide: corn gluten meal. Biopesticides used for household purposes represent 74.8% of total domestic sales. Similarly, pesticides sold for pest control increased by 80% during this period. The change from methyl bromide to sulfuryl fluoride used in greater quantity for the same purpose explains this increase. Lastly, the sale of pesticides intended for green space maintenance decreased by 3.2% between 2015 and 2016.

The Other sales (French, PDF, 266 KB) section includes pesticides sold for use in industries, for maintaining road, rail and energy corridors, as well as electrical substations and power line and gas pipeline right-of-ways, maintaining uncultivated land, developing and protecting forests, and controlling stinging insects. The total quantity sold in 2016 is 247,145 kg a.i., which represents an increase of 7.7% over 2015.

The following are links to each section where details are provided:

 


Return to the top

Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs Bandeau du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Portail gouvernemental A propos du site Recherche English

Bilan des ventes de pesticides au Québec 2016

Résumé

Le Bilan des ventes de pesticides au Québec est élaboré annuellement par le Ministère en vue d’informer la population et les intervenants concernés par la vente et l’utilisation des pesticides. La Loi sur les pesticides (chapitre P‑9.3), dont l’application relève du Ministère, prévoit, conformément au Règlement sur les permis et les certificats pour la vente et l’utilisation des pesticides (chapitre P‑9.3, r.2), la collecte de données, notamment celles des ventes de pesticides. Ce bilan n’intègre cependant pas les ventes de pesticides sous forme de semences enrobées de pesticides. Ces renseignements seront ajoutés ultérieurement lorsqu’une nouvelle réglementation permettra la collecte de ces données particulières.

Le Bilan des ventes de pesticides sert également au calcul de l’indicateur de la Stratégie phytosanitaire québécoise en agriculture 2011‑2021 (SPQA), dont l’objectif général est de réduire de 25 % les risques pour l’environnement et la santé liés à l’utilisation des pesticides d’ici 2021 par rapport à la période de référence 2006-2008. Le suivi de ces risques est effectué notamment par l’examen des ventes de pesticides à des fins agricoles intégrées à l'indice de risque des pesticides du Québec (IRPeQ).

Depuis 1992, le bilan présente l'évolution des ventes de pesticides selon différentes catégories et particulièrement les ventes en milieux agricole et urbain. 

En 2016, les ventes totales (PDF, 299 ko) de pesticides au Québec se chiffrent à 4 170 291 kilogrammes d’ingrédients actifs (kg i.a.). Cela représente une diminution de 2,5 % par rapport aux ventes de 2015 ainsi qu’une augmentation de 3,4 % par rapport à celles de 1992, première année de la compilation de ces données.

Le milieu agricole (PDF, 394 ko) regroupe les ventes de pesticides pour la production végétale (au champ, en cultures abritées et en contenants) et celles pour une utilisation sur le bétail et dans les bâtiments agricoles. En 2016, les ventes de pesticides pour le milieu agricole sont de 3 415 290 kg i.a., soit 81,9 % des ventes totales. Les ventes d’herbicides représentent 68,1 % des ventes de pesticides utilisés pour la phytoprotection des productions végétales.

L’indice de pression à l’hectare est passé de 2,02 à 1,86 kg i.a. à l’hectare entre 2015 et 2016. Pour cette même période, les superficies totales en culture ont diminué de 0,5 %, et les ventes de pesticides agricoles ont diminué de 8,0 % , ce qui explique la diminution de l’indice de pression à l’hectare. Les indicateurs de risque des pesticides du secteur agricole sont exprimés par rapport à la moyenne de la période de référence 2006-2008. En 2016, l’indicateur de risque pour l’environnement et celui pour la santé ont diminué respectivement de 2 % et de 8 % par rapport à cette période de référence, mais sont moins élevés qu’en 2014.

Le milieu urbain (PDF, 437 ko) regroupe les ventes de pesticides à usage domestique (produits destinés aux particuliers) ainsi que les ventes destinées à l’entretien des espaces verts aménagés (résidentiels, commerciaux et terrains de golf) et à la gestion parasitaire (extermination). Les ventes de pesticides pour le milieu urbain représentent 12,2 % des ventes totales, soit 507 856 kg i.a. ce qui correspond à une augmentation des ventes de 51 % par rapport à 2015. Cette variation est attribuable à une augmentation des ventes de pesticides à usage domestique (76,1 %) et particulièrement à la vente d’un bioherbicide, la farine de gluten de maïs. Les biopesticides à usage domestique représentent 74,8 % des ventes domestiques totales. De même, les pesticides vendus pour la gestion parasitaire ont augmenté de 80 % durant cette période. Le changement du bromure de méthyle par le fluorure de sulfuryle utilisé en plus grande quantité pour un même usage explique cette augmentation. Finalement, les ventes de pesticides destinés à l’entretien des espaces verts ont diminué de 3,2 % entre 2015 et 2016.

La section Autres ventes (PDF, 266 ko) comprend les pesticides vendus pour une utilisation dans les industries, pour l’entretien des corridors de transport routier, ferroviaire ou d’énergie ainsi que des postes électriques et des emprises de lignes électriques et de gazoducs, pour l’entretien des terrains incultes, pour l’aménagement et la protection des forêts et pour le contrôle des insectes piqueurs. La quantité vendue est de 247 145 kg i.a. en 2016, ce qui représente une augmentation de 7,7 % par rapport à 2015.

Les liens suivants mènent au détail de chaque section :


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2018