Ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement
et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Home Site Map Québec.ca E-Mail Search About the site Français

Smog

What is smog?

Smog is a yellowish haze caused by the accumulation of a mixture of atmospheric contaminants that limits visibility in the atmosphere. It is primarily composed of fine particulate matter and ozone. It can occur at any time of the year. In summer it is mostly made up of ozone (O3) and fine particulate matter (PM2.5). However, in winter it is mainly characterized by fine particulate matter.

Smog over Québec City
Summer smog Good air quality Winter smog
Vue du 31e étage de l'Édifice Marie-Guyart vers l'est - Photo Roger Lemire MDDEP Vue du 31e étage de l'Édifice Marie-Guyart vers l'est - Photo Roger Lemire MDDEP Du 29e étage de l’édifice Marie-Guyart à Québec - Photo : Manon Therrien, MDDEP
September 10, 2002 - 3:32 p.m.
PM2,5 concentration = 45 µg/m³
O3 concentration = 90 ppb
September 24, 2002 - 3:45 p.m.
PM2,5 concentration = 1 µg/m³
O3 concentration = 24 ppb
February 2, 2002 - 9:00 a.m.
PM2,5 concentration = 53 µg/m³
O3 concentration = 5 ppb

Smog-causing contaminants originate from local and cross-border emission sources. Winds carry fine particulate matter, ozone and their precursor pollutants to Québec from southern Ontario and the central United States. The farther one gets from the Great Lakes region, the more the sources are attributable to Québec emissions.

Smog can affect the health of the most vulnerable population groups any time of the year. These include young children, the elderly and people with respiratory or heart problems. Find out more about the origin and impacts of air contaminants.

For more details

Rate this page

As part of its 2019—2023 Strategic Plan, the Ministère wishes to improve access to information that is available on its website. Can we count on your co-operation by responding to a survey at the bottom of each page? This will enable us to evaluate how easy it was to find the information you were looking for.


Return to the top

Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs Bandeau du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Portail gouvernemental A propos du site Recherche English

Smog

Qu’est-ce que le smog?

Le smog est une brume jaunâtre causée par l’accumulation d’un mélange de contaminants atmosphériques qui limite la visibilité dans l’atmosphère. Il est surtout constitué de particules fines et d'ozone. Il peut se former à toute période de l’année. L’été, il est en grande partie constitué d’ozone (O3) et de particules fines (PM2,5), alors que l’hiver, ce sont principalement les particules fines qui le caractérisent.

Smog sur la ville de Québec
Smog estival Bonne qualité de l'air Smog hivernal
Vue du 31e étage de l'Édifice Marie-Guyart vers l'est - Photo Roger Lemire MDDEP Vue du 31e étage de l'Édifice Marie-Guyart vers l'est - Photo Roger Lemire MDDEP Du 29e étage de l’édifice Marie-Guyart à Québec - Photo : Manon Therrien, MDDEP
10 septembre 2002 - 15 h 32
Concentration PM2,5 = 45 µg/m³
Concentration O3 = 90 ppb
24 septembre 2002 - 15 h 45
Concentration PM2,5 = 1 µg/m³
Concentration O3 = 24 ppb
2 février 2005 - 9 h
Concentration PM2,5 = 53 µg/m³
Concentration O3 = 5 ppb

Les contaminants à l’origine du smog proviennent de sources d’émissions locales et transfrontalières. En effet, les vents amènent au Québec les particules fines, l’ozone et leurs polluants précurseurs depuis le sud de l'Ontario et le centre des États-Unis. Plus on s'éloigne de la région des Grands Lacs, plus les sources sont attribuables aux émissions québécoises.

Quel que soit le moment de l’année, le smog est susceptible d’affecter la santé des populations les plus vulnérables, comme les jeunes enfants, les personnes âgées et les personnes souffrant de maladies respiratoires ou cardiaques. Apprenez-en plus sur l’origine et les impacts des contaminants atmosphériques.

Pour en savoir plus

 


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2018